The Bauhaus buildings are recognised worldwide as icons of modernism. The Bauhaus buildings and the Masters’ Houses were added to the list of UNESCO World Cultural Heritage sites in 1996.

The UNESCO World Cultural Heritage sites are places of particular cultural and historical significance and ambassadors of the UNESCO concept of strengthening the cultural dialogue between peoples and cultures. Of the UNECO World Cultural Heritage sites in 161 nations worldwide, only 773 are cultural monuments. There are 37 World Cultural Heritage sites in Germany, which include natural landscapes as well as cultural buildings.

With three World Cultural Heritage sites, Dessau is a very special place. In addition to the Bauhaus, these include the Garden Kingdom of Dessau-Wörlitz and the Flusslandschaft Elbe Biosphere Reserve. A journey to Dessau is therefore full of discoveries and variety. (www.sachsen-anhalt-tourismus.de and www.dessau-rosslau-tourismus.de).

Welcome to Bauhaus Dessau

  • The Bauhaus Building is daily open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Find the latest information about the Foundation’s daily programme and admission tickets for the Bauhaus buildings and exhibitions in the Visitors’ Centre in the Bauhaus building.

The Bauhaus buildings on the Dessau-Törten Estate are open to visitors from Tuesday to Sunday, from 11 a.m. to 3 .30 p.m. (regrettably, closed in December and January). Please start your visit in the Konsum building.

Masters' Houses:

Open from November 1st to March 31st, 2016 a day an hour later:
Mon – Sun from 11am – 5pm.

Consumption buildings , steel house , visitor center Törten:
are completely closed in December and January.